The Nutting/Horne Block as it appeared in the early 1900s.
One of downtown Meredith's largest commercial buildings, the Horne Block, has a unique history. Throughout the years, it has been headquarters for two highly respected women of medicine.
Originally known as the Nutting Block, it was built in the 1890s by Drs. Newell and Mary Nutting as their office. "Dr. Mary," as she was widely known, is remembered for the hundreds of babies she delivered, and for trudging through all types of inclement New Hampshire weather to make house calls on Meredith residents too old or ill to visit her office.
After Dr. Mary's death in 1947, the Nutting Block was purchased by Guy Horne and his wife. Dr. Edith (Bushway) Horne and subsequently renamed the Horne Block. The couple met when, prior to their marriage, Dr. Bushway cured Mr. Horne of a serious asthma condition. As owner of the Horne Block, Dr. Edith Horne established Meredith's first chiropracty. She continued to actively practice chiropractics into the 1990s.
The Nutting/Horne Block today.
The building itself is three stories, and is one of several in Meredith with well-preserved wooden storefronts. Centrally placed recessed entrances allow for maximum display window frontage while also offering shelter from the elements as customers enter and exit. Today the Horne Block houses a variety of apartments and unique shops.